Dinah Shore Tournament Course
Pete Dye Challenge Course

36-hole stroke play championship
May 16 - 17, 2020


For just the 4th time in Tour history, Mission Hills Country Club will play host to a Golf Channel Amateur Tour Major!

MIssion Hills Country Club, known worldwide for it's history and tradition is the home of the Dinah Shore Tournament Course, rated the No. 1 golf course in Coachella Valley and the site of the first Major on the LPGA Tour - ANA Inspiration.  The Winner of the ANA Inspiration annually makes a running leap off the bank next to the 18th green, flying into the waters of the adjacent "Poppie's Pond."  It is known as the Champion's Leap.  Unlike many desert golf courses, the Dinah Shore Tournament Course has some tall, mature tees and there are moderate elevation changes, too. 

The Pete Dye Challenge Course opened in 1988 and at 6,955 yards, this course is a true test of skill featuring rolling fairways, elevated greens, and Pete Dye's trademark railroad ties marking the beautiful (and plentiful) lakes throughout the course. 

The top 3 finishers, per flight and including ties will qualify for the 2020 National Championship and awards double points.  

Entry fee of $495 includes green fees, cart fees, use of practice facility, scoring, generous prize fund, tee prize(s), and crystal trophy to event champions.    


Joe Wagner
Regional Director




36-hole stroke play championship.  Top 3 and ties, per flight, will qualify for the 2019 National Championship.  In addition, the event is worth double points.  All entries are on a first come, first served basis



May 15 - 3PM - 5PM On-Site Registration and Check-In
May 16 - 6AM - 8:30AM On-Site Registration and Check-In
May 16 - 7AM - 9AM 1st Round of Stroke Play
May 17 - 7AM - 9AM Final Round of Stroke Play
May 17 - 12PM - 2PM Awards Ceremony for each flight as soon as the flight has concluded




Entry deadline is May 1, 2020 at 6PM, PST, however, this event will likely sell-out well in advance of this deadline and all entries are on a 1st come 1st served basis.  




Players may withdraw up until the entry deadline less a $75 cancellation fee.  Any no-shows or late withdraws will not be refunded for any reason.  



2019 Southern California Open Champions

71-67--138 Cullen Brasfield (Championship)
73-76--149 Zoe Walker (Palmer Flight)
79-76--155 Paul Anderson (Senior Palmer)
78-82--160 Rob Ritchie (Hogan Flight)
81-84--165 John Dwyer III (Senior Hogan)
88-86--174 Dennis Ashley (Sarazen Flight)
84-80--164 John Olson (Senior Sarazen)
90-88--178 Bart LeFevre (Jones Flight)
92-92--184 Bruce LeGrand (Senior Jones)
96-96--192 Les Townzen (Snead Flight)

2018 Southern California Open Champions

66-69--135 Tyler Moore (Championship)
79-71--150 Terry Rice (Senior Championship)
75-79--154 Brad Randall (Palmer Flight)
74-82--156 Jim Cillo (Senior Palmer)
76-77--153 David Bonnet (Hogan Flight)
80-78--158 Jeff Hanser (Senior Hogan)
89-85--174 Sean Hunt (Sarazen Flight)
78-84--162 Chuck Lawson (Senior Sarazen)
87-84--171 Kevin Dolan (Jones Flight)
91-88--179 David Pennington (Senior Jones)
90-95--185 Kevin Dolan (Snead Flight)
92-90--182 Larry Polete (Senior Snead)

2017 Southern California Open Champions

65-67--132 Tyler Moore (Championship)* TOURNAMENT RECORD
74-69--143 Earl Ingarfield (Senior Championship)
76-79--155 Justin Alonzo (Palmer Flight)
74-76--150 Orlando Hernandez (Senior Palmer)
77-80--157 Hendra Wijay (Hogan Flight)
75-76--151 Jeff Couch (Senior Hogan)
88-77--165 Gregory Lee (Sarazen Flight)
79-77--156 Jeffrey Campbell (Senior Sarazen)
90-88--178 Perry Bryant (Jones Flight)
93-81--174 Rick Halprin (Senior Jones)
93-85--178 Don Freitag (Snead Flight)
98-86--184 Dennis Baxter (Senior Snead)